Spin Semiconductor Forum Index Spin Semiconductor
Support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

My designs are always noisy :(
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spin Semiconductor Forum Index -> FV-1 hardware questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iampoor



Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so Im convinced the problem was my layout. Nothing else would seem to make sense at this point. I have added some additional pads for bypass caps (just in case) on the plugin board, and increased the number of via's between the ground planes. Some of the pins on my original PCB were not connected very well to the bottom ground plane, an I have tried to keep the bottom ground plane as solid as possible.

Here is my layout and schematic. Anything else wonky or suggestions? I will be ordering these in a few days. Very Happy


http://imgur.com/a/TKN6M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frank



Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would be easier to look at if each layer were posted separately, can't realy see if there are any issues on the bottom layer.
_________________
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iampoor



Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frank wrote:
Would be easier to look at if each layer were posted separately, can't realy see if there are any issues on the bottom layer.


Here you go. Let me know if you would like anything clarified!

Thank you for looking this over and being so helpful!

http://imgur.com/a/nxfef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frank



Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I would get rid of the ground pours on the top layer, better to have one good ground plane.

It looks like you may have some broken current return paths. See the pdf at
www.ti.com/lit/ml/sloa089/sloa089.pdf on page 17-15 it appears you have things like "Version B" and you reall want to look like "Version C" where the current return path is directly under the signal trace. Also see http://www.ultracad.com/articles/loop.pdf for more info.
_________________
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iampoor



Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frank wrote:
Well, I would get rid of the ground pours on the top layer, better to have one good ground plane.

It looks like you may have some broken current return paths. See the pdf at
www.ti.com/lit/ml/sloa089/sloa089.pdf on page 17-15 it appears you have things like "Version B" and you reall want to look like "Version C" where the current return path is directly under the signal trace. Also see http://www.ultracad.com/articles/loop.pdf for more info.


Great! Thanks for the info. How do these look?

There are a few breaks in the plane on the bigger board should I try through hole jumpers? Or does it look sensible? I tried to minimize the length of any traces on the bottom side, and not put them in super obvious current return paths.

http://imgur.com/a/1jEIM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frank



Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks much cleaner. You will almost always have to put in some break in the ground plane to route signals but as long as you try to avoid the current return paths, avoid running signals in parallel to each other (watch for that between layers), etc. you can usually get a good clean PCB.
_________________
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iampoor



Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frank wrote:
That looks much cleaner. You will almost always have to put in some break in the ground plane to route signals but as long as you try to avoid the current return paths, avoid running signals in parallel to each other (watch for that between layers), etc. you can usually get a good clean PCB.


Great! I will order it and report back. I hope my layout was the problem, it would be nice to finally figure this out. The other pedals I have built havent been particularly sensitive layout wise, so this has been a good experience! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dientulke



Joined: 16 Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Location: Vietnam

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 8:51 am    Post subject: remove noise Reply with quote

note at red color circle. insert a 100 ohm/1W resistor between VCC and IC4 ( 3.3V ).
noise can be removed.
[img]http://imgur.com/0IJlQk2[/img]

http://imgur.com/0IJlQk2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spin Semiconductor Forum Index -> FV-1 hardware questions All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group