Octave up and down

Algorithm development and general DSP issues

Moderator: frank

jovesdies
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:55 am

Octave up and down

Post by jovesdies »

Hi,
is it possible to obtain an octave up and down pedal ?
E.G. Pot0 = clean signal, pot1 = octave down, pot2 = octave up
like an electro harmonix micro pog.
Regards.
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Sure, just program it. There is enough delay memory in the FV-1 to do both at the same time.
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
clarky2003
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:23 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by clarky2003 »

oh! i'm really interested by this topic!

I'm waiting for the program :D
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Not in the office right now so can't write/test code but look at the last examples in http://www.spinsemi.com/Products/appnot ... N-0001.pdf where is shows how to do pitch shifting.
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
jovesdies
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:55 am

Post by jovesdies »

Any news about up-down program?
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Sorry, forgot all about this thread... give this a try:

Code: Select all

delayd mem 4096 ; Down delay
temp mem 1 ; Temp location for partial calculations
; 
skp run,START

;
wldr RMP0,16384,4096
wldr RMP1,-8192,4096
; 
START: ldax ADCL
; Write it to left delay and clear ACC
wra delayd,0
; Read in left
ldax ADCL
;
wra delayd,0
; 
cho rda,RMP0,REG|COMPC,delayd
cho rda,RMP0,,delayd+1
wra temp,0
cho rda,RMP0,RPTR2|COMPC,delayd
cho rda,RMP0,RPTR2,delayd+1
cho sof,RMP0,NA|COMPC,0
cho rda,RMP0,NA,temp
mulx POT1
wrax REG0,0
;
cho rda,RMP1,REG|COMPC,delayd
cho rda,RMP1,,delayd+1
wra temp,0
cho rda,RMP1,RPTR2|COMPC,delayd
cho rda,RMP1,RPTR2,delayd+1
cho sof,RMP1,NA|COMPC,0
cho rda,RMP1,NA,temp
MULX POT2
wrax REG1,0
;
ldax ADCL
mulx POT0
rdax REG0,1.0
rdax REG1,1.0
wrax DACL,1.0
wrax DACR,0
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
jovesdies
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:55 am

Post by jovesdies »

Great program Frank !!
Thanks for all.
You're number 1
jovesdies
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:55 am

Post by jovesdies »

Hi !
Is it possible to split the octave down sound only on the left output and the upper octave only on the right output ?
Thanks.
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Yes it is, just change the code at the end to mix dry and write to the desired DAC
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Sweetalk
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:13 am

Post by Sweetalk »

Is it possible to do 2 octaves up or down only?, not both at the same time.
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Sweetalk wrote:Is it possible to do 2 octaves up or down only?, not both at the same time.
Up: Not possible, the max up is just over 1.5 octaves. Well, technically you could by doing it twice in series but it would sound terrible.

Down: Yes, in theory can do infinite down to the point that all frequencies are 0
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Sweetalk
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:13 am

Post by Sweetalk »

frank wrote:
Sweetalk wrote:Is it possible to do 2 octaves up or down only?, not both at the same time.
Up: Not possible, the max up is just over 1.5 octaves. Well, technically you could by doing it twice in series but it would sound terrible.

Down: Yes, in theory can do infinite down to the point that all frequencies are 0
I figured out that the up capability was limited up to 1,5 octaves and down not. Really putting them in series will be that terrible? and If you do that externally?

I've been testing the Pitch program that came with the chip, I noticed some kind of tremolo effect in the shifted signal. Is that normal?, there is a way to get rid of this? sounds so nice that it's a shame this little thing.
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

Yeah, the effect you are hearing is an artifact of real time pitch shifting, while settings can change how it sounds it will always be there. It will also depend on the source material as to how much you will notice it.

You could do the 2x in the chip rather than externally, probably better then you don't go through the ADC and DAC a second time.
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Sweetalk
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:13 am

Post by Sweetalk »

There is a way to make it less noticeable?. While it's mixed with the dry signal it's fine, but alone it's very noticeable.
frank
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:26 pm
Contact:

Post by frank »

You could try a shorter delay line (don't recall how long the one in the built in program is) and that might help but it could cause low frequencies to not shift. But the artifact will always be there.
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
Post Reply