Possible damaged chip?

Hardware questions and issues with the FV-1

Moderator: frank

differo

Possible damaged chip?

Post by differo »

I've built the circuit/board from the Scmatics on Tonepad site. I'm currently studying/debugging this circuit which is really hard because of the complexity of the chip.

I've might damaged the circuit. It never worked, I traced the signal to the pin one without problem. But I'm not getting anything on either output pins. Circuit is rather simple but yet a buger. I don't own oscilloscope which makes it hard to debug even more. I don't know if watch is ticking, and the biggest one: clip led is on all the time. I don't remember if it was lit from the begining, I've stared to this board now a several hours too long for a day.
If anyone have anything, advice, recognizes problem, well anything, I would appreciate it a lot.
I use lm317 on a separate perf board to get regulated 3.3 V.
djmalan

Post by djmalan »

I got the chips from sergio and ,built 40 pieces of boards with lm317 at 3,2 volts by using input polarity protection diode before lm317 and 4,7 ohm res.,till now I have same problem about 2 chips no output and clip led is on all the time and 1 chip was ringing with the last internal rev. program I solved the ringing by using only external memory,till now 2.5 chips vaste.. :(
frank

Post by frank »

Hmmm, very odd. We do 100% testing so it is possible it is what we call 'infant mortality', chip passes test but fails a short time later in circuit. There is no test for that.

Couple things to check... do you have a 15pf cap on the X2 pin (pin 9)? Some designs omitted this and it is required for certain crystal manufacturers. The clip light being on is one of the indicators of the crystal not oscillating correctly. Power good and stable? If you can get your hands on a scope it would really help to debug.
Frank Thomson
Experimental Noize
differo

Post by differo »