Performing more than two simultaneous pitch shifts.

Algorithm development and general DSP issues

Moderator: frank

armstrom

Performing more than two simultaneous pitch shifts.

Post by armstrom »

I'm very new to DSP development in general (and the FV-1 in particular!) but I'm interested in trying to recreate a synth sound I have heard from other products. It involves doing multiple pitch-shifts of the input signal and mixing them back together to produce kind of an auto-harmony effect. In my case I think I'm limited by the number of SIN LFOs in the FV-1. I would like to generate the following shifts simultaneously:
-1 Octave
+5th
+2 octaves and a 3rd
+3 octaves

Here's what I'm thinking but I might be totally off base here. I THINK I can achieve all of these shifts simultaneously by finding the least common multiple of each of them and simply scaling. It would seem if I set up my first LFO to give me a four semitone shift and the second LFO to give me a 7 semitone shift I should be able to achieve all of these pitch shifts as follows:
-1 octave = -12 semitones, or LFO1 * -3
+5th = +7 semitones (use LFO2 as-is)
+2 octaves and a 3rd = +24 semitones for the octave and +4 for the 3rd, or LFO1 * 7
+3 octaves = +36 semitones or LFO1 * 9.

So, is this a valid way to compute the pointers into my delay memory? Also, how many samples would I need to use to cover this entire range? I'm still a bit shaky on how the whole pitch-shfit theory works.

Any help would be much appreciated!
-Matt
frank

Post by frank »

I don't think it will work as you intend, the ramp waves in the FV-1 are designed to operate in a particular manner to create the pitch shift. Additionally doing large shifts (+2 or +3 octaves) means you will greatly have to band limit the signal else you will be aliasing because you will essentially be generating signals of a frequency higher than the FV-1 can reproduce. I.e.:

Assume a 48KHz crystal and as a result a 48KHz sample rate.