Reconfiguring the FV1 1313A Reverb chip - Absolute noob needing help

Algorithm development and general DSP issues

Moderator: frank

bemorecheetah

Reconfiguring the FV1 1313A Reverb chip - Absolute noob needing help

Post by bemorecheetah »

Hi all

Firstly be gentle - I am new to this... I'm a UK based guitarist working with a Chinese pedal manufacturer to name and market pedals and to design their enclosures.

I'm currently working on a multi modulated reverb using seven of the settings from the FV1 1313A Chip. Some of the sounds are great - some not so much. They sent me a prototype to play with.

As I understand it, there is a way to 'reprogram' the settings using a GUI and somehow 'connecting' to the chip to change the way it works.

For example on the prototype I have, one reverb setting has a lo eq, a high eq and a decay setting - this to me makes no sense, I'd rather have mix / decay / tone (there are three control knobs in play)

At this point I would like to ask the group if there is any way someone could help me 'connect' to this GUI editor as at the minute it feels as daunting as trying to play Eruption by Eddie Van Halen.

Can anyone help?

Thanks, Steve
potul

Re: Reconfiguring the FV1 1313A Reverb chip - Absolute noob needing help

Post by potul »

I'm not sure what the 1313A is...

But the FV1 cannot be reprogrammed. If you want to customize it, you need to attach an external EEPROM and write your own code there.

You can start with the knowledge base in spinsemi web, and reading the datasheet.

http://www.spinsemi.com/knowledge_base.html
ice-nine

Re: Reconfiguring the FV1 1313A Reverb chip - Absolute noob needing help

Post by ice-nine »

No need to worry about the 1313A markings on the chip it is just the manufacture date code, made in 2013 so it's an older 7 year old IC.